Creator
Rock Valley College.
Extent
6.5 ft. of material housed in 18 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College’s student support services, including the records of the Offices of Admissions and Records, the Registrar, Student Services, Counseling, Student Aids and Placement, the Student Center, Student Development, and Disability Support Services. Materials include print documents, videotapes, photographs, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of Rock Valley College’s various offices providing student support services. This collection is divided by department, into material covering the Offices of Admissions and Records, the Registrar, Student Services, Counseling, Student Aids and Placement, the Student Center, Student Development, and Disability Support Services. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into eight series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: The Office of Admissions and Records
This series includes 3 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering the office of the Director of Admissions and Records, the Registration Committee, publications of the Office of Admissions and Records, Early College, and sound and slide presentations.
Subseries 1: The Office of the Director [Out of Place.]
Subseries 2: Registration Committee [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 3: Publications [Box 1-2]
Subseries 4: Early College [Box 2, Folder 5]
Subseries 5: Sound & Slide Presentations [Box 3]
Series 2: The Office of the Registrar
This series includes 3 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering paper records, class lists on microfilm, transcripts on microfilm, enrollment records on microfilm, and student history records.
Subseries 1: Paper Records [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Class Lists (microfilm) [Box 2]
Subseries 3: Transcripts (microfilm) [Box 3]
Subseries 4: Enrollment Records (microfilm) [Box 3]
Subseries 5: Student History [Held by IT.]
Series 3: The Office of Student Services
This series includes 5 boxes divided into 8 subseries covering personnel, career planning, publications, programs, child care, Phi Theta Kappa, Career and Placement, and the National Association for Campus Activities.
Subseries 1: Personnel [Box 1, Folder 1-2]
Subseries 4: Career Planning [Box 1, Folder 3]
Subseries 5: Publications [Box 2, Folder 1-4]
Subseries 6: Programs [Box 2, Folder 5-6]
Subseries 7: Child Care [Box 3, Folder 1-4]
Subseries 8: Phi Theta Kappa [Box 3, Folder 5-6]
Subseries 9: Career Planning and Placement [Box 4]
Subseries 10: National Association for Campus Activities [Box 5]
Series 4: The Office of Counseling
This series includes 3 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering publications of the Office of Counseling, Arnold “Les” Ross, counselors, programs and activities, and meeting minutes.
Subseries 1: Publications [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Arnold “Les” Ross [Out of Place.]
Subseries 3: Counselors [Box 2-3]
Subseries 4: Programs and Activities [Box 3, Folder 3]
Subseries 5: Meeting Minutes [Box 3, Folder 4]
Series 5: The Office of Student Aids and Placement
This series includes 1 box divided into 7 subseries covering Richard Cook, student employment, veterans’ services, financial aid applications, financial aid programs, scholarships and awards, and brochures and publications.
Subseries 1: Richard Cook [Out of Place.]
Subseries 2: Student Employment [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 3: Veteran’s Services [Box 1, Folder 2]
Subseries 4: Financial Aid Applications [Box 1, Folder 3]
Subseries 5: Financial Aid Programs [Box 1, Folder 4]
Subseries 6: Scholarships and Awards [Box 1, Folder 5]
Subseries 7: Brochures and Publications [Box 1, Folder 6]
Series 6: The Office of the Student Center
This series includes 1 box divided into 4 subseries covering Rudy Chapko, Ken Bonk, publications of the Office of the Student Center, and information on the Student Center building.
Subseries 1: Rudy Chapko [Box 1, Folder 1-2]
Subseries 2: Ken Bonk [Out of Place.]
Subseries 3: Publications [Box 1, Folder 3-5]
Subseries 4: Student Center (Building) [Box 1, Folder 6-7]
Series 7: The Office of Student Development
This series includes 1 box divided into 6 subseries covering correspondences about philosophical change, New Student Guides, New Student Orientations, the student Code of Conduct, the “Million Reasons Why” ICCB campaign, and the Foundations of Excellence program.
Subseries 1: Correspondence about Philosophical Change [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: New Student Guide [Box 1, Folder 2]
Subseries 3: New Student Orientation [Box 1, Folder 3]
Subseries 4: Student Code of Conduct [Box 1, Folder 4]
Subseries 5: Million Reasons Why (ICCB) [Box 1, Folder 5]
Subseries 6: Foundations of Excellence [Box 1, Folder 6]
Series 8: The Office of Disability Support Services
This series includes 1 box containing material documenting the history of the Office of Disability Support Services.
Subseries 1: Disability Support Services [Box 1]