Creator
Rock Valley College, Operations Division.
Extent
2 ft. of material housed in 13 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of the Operations Division at Rock Valley College, including the records of the Office of the Vice President of Operations, Facilities Planning and POM (Plant Operations and Maintenance), and the Rock Valley College Police Department. Materials include print documents, videotapes, blueprints and building plans, photographs, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of the Operations Division at Rock Valley College. This collection is divided into material covering the Office of the Vice President of Operations, the Office of the Dean of Business Services, Facilities Planning, and Plant Operations and Maintenance (FPOM), the Rock Valley College Police Department, and the Office of the Dean of Information Technology (IT). Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into five series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: The Office of the Vice President of Operations (COO)
This series includes one box containing facilities master plans.
Subseries 1: Facilities Master Plans [Box 1]
Series 2: The Office of the Dean of Business Services
This series includes 5 boxes divided into 4 subseries describing personnel and business managers, records of the Business Office, the Office of Purchasing, and meeting minutes of the office of the Dean of Business Services.
Subseries 1: Personnel and Business Managers [Out of Place.]
Subseries 2: Business Office Records [Out of Place.]
Subseries 3: The Office of Purchasing [Box 1-3]
Subseries 4: Meeting Minutes [Box 4-5]
Series 3: Facilities Planning & POM (Plant Operations & Maintenance)
This series includes 2 boxes divided into 3 subseries covering signs, records of Plant Operations, and blueprints, building plans and campus maps.
Subseries 1: Signs [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Plant Operations [Box 1, Folder 2-4]
Subseries 3: Blueprints of Buildings, Maps, and Maintenance [Box 2]
Series 4: Rock Valley College Police Department
This series includes 1 box documenting the history of the Rock Valley College Police Department, previously the Office of Public Safety.
Subseries 1: History [Box 1]
Series 5: The Office of the Dean of Information Technology (IT)
This series includes 1 box divided into 3 subseries covering the papers of Robert D. Campbell, departmental records, and staff training records.
Subseries 1: Robert D. Campbell [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Department Records [Box 1, Folder 2]
Subseries 3: Staff Training Records [Box 1, Folder 3-4]