Creator
Rock Valley College, The Office of Community Services and the Office of Community and Continuing Education.
Extent
6 ft. of material housed in 34 boxes.
Collection Summary
This collection of material documents the history of services Rock Valley College provides the surrounding community, including records of the Office of Community Services, the campus theatres, and the Office of Community and Continuing Education. Materials include print documents, photographs, filmed performances, playbills, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of the services Rock Valley College provides to residents of Illinois Community College District No. 511. This collection is divided into material on the Office of the Dean of Community Services, the Rock Valley College theatres, and the Office of Community and Continuing Education. Files may include print documents, photographs, posters, filmed performances, playbills, and physical memorabilia
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into three series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: The Office of the Dean of Community Services
This series includes 14 boxes divided into 7 subseries covering personnel, organizations and memberships, publications, sponsored events, special events, grant funded programs, and the Leola Arnold Memorial School.
Subseries 1: Personnel [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Organizations and Memberships [Box 1, Folder 2-3]
Subseries 3: Publications [Box 1, Folder 4-7]
Subseries 4: Sponsored Programs [Box 2-6]
Subseries 5: Special Events [Box 7-9]
Subseries 6: Grant Funded Programs [Box 10-12]
Subseries 7: Leola Arnold Memorial School [Box 13-14]
Series 2: Theatre Department
This series includes 11 boxes containing the records and publications of the Rock Valley College Theatre Department.
Subseries 1: Theatre Department [Box 1-11]
Series 3: The Office of Community and Continuing Education
This series includes 9 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering class schedules, programs, publications, and pamphlets of the Office of Community and Continuing Education, and the records of the Center for Learning in Retirement.
Subseries 1: Class Schedules [Box 1-4]
Subseries 2: Programs [Box 5, Folder 1-3]
Subseries 3: Publications [Box 5, Folder 4-5]
Subseries 4: Pamphlets [Box 6]
Subseries 5: Center for Learning in Retirement [Box 7-9]