Creator
Rock Valley College, Human Resource Division.
Extent
15.75 ft. of material housed in 45 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College’s Human Resources (HR) department and personnel, including accounts payable records, staff and faculty handbooks, staff and faculty retirements, professional development opportunities, and collective bargaining agreements. Materials include print documents, videotapes, photographs, microfilm, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of Rock Valley College personnel. The collection is divided into the records of the Office of the Controller, the records of the Human Resources Department, general employee records, classified employee records, and faculty records. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into five series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: The Office of the Controller
This series includes 9 boxes containing the records of Accounts Payable.
Subseries 1: Accounts Payable [Box 1-9]
Series 2: Human Resources
This series includes 2 boxes containing the records of Human Resources.
Subseries 1: Human Resources [Box 1-2]
Series 3: Employees - General
This series includes 2 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering employee recognition awards, the Corporate Cup, retired personnel, the “15 Year Ceremony”, and staff professional development.
Subseries 1: Employee Recognition Awards [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Corporate Cup [Box 1, Folder 2]
Subseries 3: Retired Personnel [Box 1, Folder 3]
Subseries 4: “15 Year Ceremony” [Box 1, Folder 4]
Subseries 5: Staff Professional Development [Box 2]
Series 4: Employees - Classified
This series includes 2 boxes divided into 4 subseries covering classified employee newsletters, records of the Council of Classified Employees and Professional Staff Association, and employee handbooks.
Subseries 1: Newsletter [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Council of Classified Employees [Box 1, Folder 2-3]
Subseries 3: Professional Staff Association [Box 1, Folder 4]
Subseries 4: Handbooks [Box 2]
Series 5: Employees - Faculty
This series includes 30 boxes divided into 7 subseries covering members of the faculty, faculty conferences, meetings, the Faculty Council, collective bargaining agreements, the women of Rock Valley College’s faculty, and faculty handbooks.
Subseries 1: Faculty Members [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Faculty Conferences [Box 1, Folder 2-3]
Subseries 3: Meetings [Box 2-5]
Subseries 4: Faculty Council [Box 6-25]
Subseries 5: Collective Bargaining Agreements [Box 25-26]
Subseries 6: “RVC Faulty Women” [Box 27]
Subseries 7: Faculty Handbooks [Box 28-30]