Creator
Rock Valley College, Academic Affairs Division.
Extent
15 ft. of material housed in 57 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College’s various academic divisions, career and technical education, and tutoring department. Materials include division personnel records, meeting minutes, faculty publications, course records and syllabi, and records of programs and events.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of Academic Affairs at Rock Valley College. Material is divided by academic division: The Office of the Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the Office of the Communications Division, the Office of the Mathematics and Humanities Division, the Office of the Life Sciences Division, the Office of the Physical Science Division, the Office of the Social Science Division, the Career and Technical Education (CTE) departments, and the tutoring center. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including personnel records, division meeting minutes, course records and syllabi, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into eight series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: The Office of the Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences
This series includes 9 boxes divided into 13 subseries covering personnel, publications, approved curriculum, RVC+2, the First Tuesday Lecture Series, the Critical Issues Lecture Series, Teams Competitions, TV college courses, course syllabi, division meeting minutes, student outcomes assessment, EdNet, and Academic Affairs information.
Subseries 1: Personnel [Box 1-2]
Subseries 2: Publications [Box 2, Folder 3]
Subseries 3: Approved Curriculum [Box 3-4]
Subseries 4: RVC+2 [Box 5, Folder 1]
Subseries 5: First Tuesday Series [Box 5, Folder 2]
Subseries 6: Critical Issues Series [Box 5, Folder 3]
Subseries 7: Teams Competition [Box 5, Folder 4]
Subseries 8: TV College Courses [Box 5, Folder 5]
Subseries 9: Course Syllabi [Box 6]
Subseries 10: Division Meeting Minutes [Box 7-8]
Subseries 11: Student Outcomes Assessment [Box 9, Folder 1]
Subseries 12: EdNet [Box 9, Folder 2-3]
Subseries 13: Academic Affairs Information [Box 9, Folder 4-6]
Series 2: The Office of the Communications Division
This series includes 2 boxes divided into 2 subseries covering faculty publications and Communications Division papers.
Subseries 1: Faculty Publications [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Communications Divisions Papers [Box 2]
Series 3: The Office of the Mathematics & Humanities Division
This series includes 9 boxes divided into 14 subseries covering the programs of performances by Art and Music departments, personnel, visiting groups, RVC sponsored performances, music programs, the textbooks of Gustafson and Frisk, Math and Humanities Tours, the Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics, foreign language programs, art classes and programs, PACE, mathematics placement testing, sheet music, and lecture slides.
Subseries 1: Programs of Performances by Art & Music Departments [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Personnel [Box 2]
Subseries 3: Visiting Groups [Box 3, Folder 1]
Subseries 4: RVC Sponsored Performances [Box 3-5]
Subseries 5: Music Programs [Box 5]
Subseries 6: Gustafson & Frisk Textbooks [Box 6]
Subseries 7: Math & Humanities Tours [Box 7, Folder 1]
Subseries 8: Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics [Box 7, Folder 2]
Subseries 9: Foreign Language Programs [Box 7, Folder 3]
Subseries 10: Art Classes, Programs [Box 7, Folder 4]
Subseries 11: PACE Program [Box 7, Folder 5]
Subseries 12: Mathematics Placement Test [Box 7, Folder 6]
Subseries 13: Music Department: Sheet Music [Box 8]
Subseries 14: Lecture Slides [Box 9]
Series 4: The Office of the Life Sciences Division
This series includes 2 boxes divided into 2 subseries covering courses and publications of the life sciences division.
Subseries 1: Publications and Papers [Box 1, Folder 1-2]
Subseries 2: Programs and Classes [Box 1-2]
Series 5: The Office of the Physical Sciences Division
This series includes 2 boxes divided into 2 subseries covering lectures and publications of the physical sciences division.
Subseries 1: Lectures [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Publications [Box 2]
Series 6: The Office of the Social Science Division
This series includes 1 box divided into 6 subseries covering publications, the World Affairs Conference, History Awards, tours and trips, special programs, and courses.
Subseries 1: Publications [Box 1, Folder 1-3]
Subseries 2: World Affairs Conference [Box 1, Folder 4-5]
Subseries 3: History Awards [Box 1, Folder 6]
Subseries 4: Tours and Trips [Box 1, Folder 7]
Subseries 5: Special Programs [Box 1, Folder 8]
Subseries 6: Courses and Programs [Box 1, Folder 9]
Series 7: Career & Technical Education (CTE)
This series includes 31 boxes divided into 10 subseries covering Ronald Hallstrom, Donald Johnson, Donald Williams, programs, Career Week, “Vo-Tech Education”, divisions, the Technology Center, Tech Prep Academy, and related organizations.
Subseries 1: Personnel [Box 1, Folder 1-3]
Subseries 2: Programs [Box 1, Folder 4-9]
Subseries 3: Career Week [Box 1, Folder 10]
Subseries 4: “Vo-Tech Education” [Box 2]
Subseries 5: Divisions [Box 3-12]
Subseries 6: Technology Center [Box 13-20]
Subseries 7: Tech Prep Academy [Box 21-26]
Subseries 8: Organizations [Box 27-31]
Series 8: Tutoring Center
This series includes 1 box covering the publications of the tutoring center.
Subseries 1: Publications [Box 1]