Creator
Rock Valley College.
Extent
60.5 ft of material housed in 213 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College at the leadership level, including administrative records, historic college presidents, the Board of Trustees, presidential boards and committees, and historic collaborations with other institutions of higher education. Materials include print documents, videotapes, photographs, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of Rock Valley College at the leadership level. The collection is divided into material on organizations Rock Valley College belongs to, college administrative records, governmental agencies, institutional collaboration initiatives, the College Board of Trustees, the Office of the President, presidential boards and committees, and the Office of the Vice President of Administrative Services. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into eight series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: Organizations and Memberships
This series includes 17 boxes divided into 4 subseries covering Rock Valley College’s accrediting bodies and records of the Illinois Association of Community and Junior Colleges, Illinois Community College Board, and Illinois Community College Trustee Association.
Subseries 1: Accrediting Bodies [Box 1-7]
Subseries 2: Illinois Association of Community and Junior Colleges (IACJC) [Box 8-10]
Subseries 3: Illinois Community College Board (ICCB) [Box 11-16]
Subseries 4: Illinois Community College Trustee Association [Box 17]
Series 2: Administrative Records
This series includes 12 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering enrollment reports, the institutional philosophy of Rock Valley College, student profiles, facts printed about RVC, and the Rock Valley College Foundation.
Subseries 1: Enrollment Reports [Box 1, Folder 1-2]
Subseries 2: Rock Valley College Philosophy [Box 1, Folder 3-4]
Subseries 3: Student Profiles [Box 2-5]
Subseries 4: Facts about Rock Valley College [Box 6-7]
Subseries 5: Rock Valley College Foundation [Box 8-12]
Series 3: Governmental Agencies
This series includes 8 boxes divided into 4 subseries covering records relating to the State of Illinois, federal agencies, City of Rockford, and the Regional Office of Education.
Subseries 1: State of Illinois [Box 1-3]
Subseries 2: Federal Agencies [Box 4]
Subseries 3: City of Rockford [Box 5-7]
Subseries 4: Regional Office of Education [Box 8]
Series 4: Institutional Collaboration
This series includes 2 boxes divided into 2 subseries covering records relating to efforts to collaborate with Rockford College and Northern Illinois University.
Subseries 1: Rockford College [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Northern Illinois University [Box 2]
Series 5: Board of Trustees
This series includes 5 boxes divided into 7 subseries covering Board of Trustees reports, financial reports, budgets, board members, board activity, official ballots, and board bylaws.
Subseries 1: Board of Trustees Reports (Stored Remotely) [Box 1-113 (RS)]
Subseries 2: Financial Reports [Box 1-2]
Subseries 3: Budgets [Box 3]
Subseries 4: Board Members [Box 4]
Subseries 5: Board Activity [Box 5, Folder 1-2]
Subseries 6: Official Ballot [Box 5, Folder 3]
Subseries 7: Board Bylaws [Box 5, Folder 4]
Series 6: The Office of the President
This series includes 23 boxes divided into 10 subseries covering past presidents Clifford Erickson, Robert Appel Jr., Karl John Jacobs, Roland J. “Chip” Chapdelaine, John Anderson, Jack Becherer, and Michael Mastroianna, the administrative council, the president’s cabinet, and the faculty council.
Subseries 1: Clifford Erickson [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Robert Appel Jr. [Box 2]
Subseries 3: Karl John Jacobs [Box 3-8]
Subseries 4: Roland J. “Chip” Chapdelaine [Box 9]
Subseries 5: John Anderson [Box 10, Folder 1]
Subseries 6: Jack Becherer [Box 10, Folder 2]
Subseries 7: Michael Mastroianna [Box 10, Folder 3]
Subseries 8: Administrative Council [Box 11-13]
Subseries 9: President’s Cabinet (President’s Council) [Box 14-21]
Subseries 10: Faculty Council [Box 22-23]
Series 7: Presidential Boards and Committees
This series includes 24 boxes and includes information on Rock Valley College’s presidential boards and committees.
Subseries 1: Presidential Boards and Committees [Box 1-32]
Series 8: The Office of the Vice President of Administrative Services
This series includes 9 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering the papers and records of Patrick Thompson, administrative calendars, RAMP plans, division meeting minutes, and division annual reports.
Subseries 1: Patrick Thompson [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Administrative Calendars [Box 1-2]
Subseries 3: RAMP Plans [Box 3-5]
Subseries 4: Division Meeting Minutes [Box 6-7]
Subseries 5: Division Annual Report [Box 8-9]