Creator
Rock Valley College, Educational Resources Center and the Estelle M. Black Library.
Extent
10.75 ft. of material housed in 213 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College’s Educational Resources Center (ERC) and the Estelle M. Black Library, including the records of ERC and Library personnel, records of ERC and Library programming, budgets, annual reports, and purchasing records. Materials include print documents, videotapes, photographs, and physical memorabilia.
Language
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of Rock Valley College’s Educational Resource Center and Estelle M. Black Library. The collection is divided into the records of ERC and Library personnel, records of ERC and Library programming, and general and purchasing records. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into three series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: Library Personnel
This series includes 3 boxes divided into 3 subseries covering directors of the library, librarians, and meeting minutes.
Subseries 1: Directors of the Library [Box 1, Folder 1-7]
Subseries 2: Librarians [Box 1, Folder 8-16]
Subseries 3: Meetings Minutes [Box 2-3]
Series 2: History of the ERC
This series includes 11 boxes divided into 11 subseries covering library memberships, conferences and institutes, “ERC History”, program materials and brochures, exhibits, audiovisual services, ERC Cornerstone Dedication, architectural and renovation history, grants, CCTV, and the Estelle M. Black Dedication.
Subseries 1: Library Memberships [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Conferences & Institutes [Box 1, Folder 2]
Subseries 3: ERC History [Box 1, Folder 3-15]
Subseries 4: Program Materials, Brochures [Box 2]
Subseries 5: Exhibits [Box 3]
Subseries 6: Audiovisual Services [Box 4]
Subseries 7: ERC Cornerstone Dedication [Box 5-6]
Subseries 8: Architectural History and Renovations [Box 7-8]
Subseries 9: Grants [Box 9]
Subseries 10: Television (CCTV) [Box 10]
Subseries 11: Estelle M. Black Dedication [Box 11]
Series 3: Library Records
This series includes 21 boxes divided into 2 subseries covering budgets, reports, technical processing records, and archives records.
Subseries 1: Budgets [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Reports [Box 2-6]
Subseries 3: Technical Processing [Box 7-20]
Subseries 4: Archives [Box 21]