Creator
Rock Valley College, Athletics Division.
Extent
8 ft. of material housed in 29 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College’s Athletics Department, including personnel of the athletics department, general athletics records, men’s athletics records, and women’s athletics records. Materials include print documents, videotapes, photographs, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of athletics at Rock Valley College. The collection is divided into the records of the personnel of the athletics department, general athletics records, men’s athletics records, and women’s athletics records. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into four series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: The Office of the Physical Education Division
This series includes 1 box documenting the history of the personnel of the Physical Education Division.
Subseries 1: Personnel (Coaches, Athletics Leadership) [Box 1]
Series 2: Men’s Athletics Records
This series includes 15 boxes divided into 6 subseries covering intramural sports, golf, baseball, tennis, basketball, and football.
Subseries 1: Intramurals [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Golf [Box 2]
Subseries 3: Baseball [Box 3-11]
Subseries 4: Tennis [Box 12]
Subseries 5: Basketball [Box 13-14]
Subseries 6: Football [Box 15]
Series 3: Women’s Athletics Records
This series includes 9 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering general women’s athletics records, softball, basketball, volleyball, and women’s athletics photographs.
Subseries 1: General Records [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Softball [Box 2-3]
Subseries 3: Basketball [Box 4-6]
Subseries 4: Volleyball [Box 7-8]
Subseries 5: Women’s Athletics Photographs [Box 9]
Series 4: General Athletics Records
This series includes 4 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering athletics publications, the wellness program, athletics awards, laminated newspaper articles, and sports personalities on campus.
Subseries 1: Athletics Publications [Box 1-2]
Subseries 2: Wellness Program [Box 3]
Subseries 3: Athletic Awards [Box 4]
Subseries 4: Laminated Newspaper Articles [Out of Place.]
Subseries 5: Sports Personalities on Campus [Out of Place.]