Creator
Rock Valley College.
Extent
31 ft. of material housed in 49 boxes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College’s students, including the student government and commission, and student activities and organizations. Materials include print documents, videotapes, photographs, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of Rock Valley College’s student population. This collection is divided into material covering the student government and commission, and material covering student activities and organizations. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into two series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: Student Leadership
This series includes 15 boxes divided into 2 subseries covering the student government and student commission.
Subseries 1: Student Government [Box 1, Folder 1-3]
Subseries 2: Student Commission [Box 1-25]
Series 2: Student Activities and Organizations
This series includes 24 boxes divided into 6 subseries covering yearbooks, student information, student publications, campus activities, student clubs and organizations, and alumni.
Subseries 1: Yearbooks [Box 1]
Subseries 2: Student Information [Box 2-5]
Subseries 3: Student Publications [Box 6-8]
Subseries 4: Campus Activities [Box 9-11]
Subseries 5: Clubs and Organizations [Box 12-22]
Subseries 6: Alumni [Box 23-24]