Creator
Rock Valley College, Institutional Planning, Communications and Marketing.
Extent
68 ft. of material housed in 26 boxes, 178 binders, and 49 bound volumes.
Collection Summary
A collection of materials documenting the history of Rock Valley College’s Communications and Marketing Division and Institutional Research and Planning Division, including campus publications, telephone directories, event calendars, paperback and hardbound college catalogs, institutional research records, and graduate follow-up studies. Materials include print documents, videotapes, photographs, and physical memorabilia.
Languages
Materials entirely in English.
Processing Archivist
Processed and finding aid written by Lukas Wenner, May 2024.
Biographical / Historical Note
Rock Valley College was established by referendum in 1964 to function as the community college serving Boone, Ogle, and Winnebago counties at a central location in Rockford, Illinois. All material was compiled by the Rock Valley College Archives.
Scope & Content Note
This collection documents the history of Rock Valley College’s Communications and Marketing Division and Institutional Research and Planning Division. The collection is divided into material on the Communications and Marketing Division, college catalogs, and the Institutional Research and Planning Division. Files may include a variety of materials on these topics including correspondences, memoranda, reports, videotapes, photographs, physical memorabilia, or newspaper clippings.
Arrangement Description
Files are arranged into eight series, all also divided into subseries. Series and subseries within the collection mostly retain their original order. Where order has been imposed, materials are ordered by subject, chronologically where dates are known.
Access Statement
Collection is open and available for research use, by appointment only. Access to playback equipment for some material is not guaranteed. Access to material is in person only, unless material is digitized and accessible remotely.
Rights Statement
Copyright has not been assigned to Rock Valley College for all material. Copyright restrictions may apply.
Preferred Citation
[ITEM DESCRIPTION], [COLLECTION TITLE], Estelle M. Black Library, Rock Valley College, Rockford, Illinois.
Series 1: Communications and Marketing
This series includes 17 boxes divided into 17 subseries covering the office of the Director of Communications and Marketing, newspaper clippings, press releases, the Monday Morning Memo, the Rock Valley College Report, the Rock Valley College News, the Campus Memo, publications of College Relations, publications featuring Rock Valley College, telephone directories, “printed materials”, class schedules, event calendars, advertising, photographs, posters, and memorabilia.
Subseries 1: The Office of the Director of Communications and Marketing [Box 1, Folder 1-2]
Subseries 2: Newspaper Clippings (Remotely Stored) [Binder 1-121 (RS)]
Subseries 3: Press Releases (Remotely Stored) [Binder 1-47 (RS)]
Subseries 4: Monday Morning Memo (Remotely Stored) [Binder 1-10 (RS)]
Subseries 5: Rock Valley College Report [Box 1, Folder 3]
Subseries 6: Rock Valley College News [Box 2, Folder 1-2]
Subseries 7: Campus Memo [Box 2, Folder 3]
Subseries 8: Publications of College Relations [Box 3]
Subseries 9: Publications Featuring RVC [Out of Place.]
Subseries 10: Who’s Who (Telephone Directories) [Box 4]
Subseries 11: “Printed Materials” [Out of Place.]
Subseries 12: Class Schedules [Box 5-10]
Subseries 13: Calendar of Events [Box 11-13]
Subseries 14: Advertising [Box 14-15]
Subseries 15: Photographs [Out of Place.]
Subseries 16: Posters [Out of Place.]
Subseries 17: Memorabilia [Box 16-17]
Series 2: College Catalogs
This series includes 5 boxes divided into 3 subseries covering paperback catalogs, hardbound catalogs, and Distance Learning Plus Catalogs.
Subseries 1: Original Catalogs [Box 1-4]
Subseries 2: Hardbound Catalogs [Bound Volumes]
Subseries 3: Distance Learning Plus Catalogs [Box 5]
Series 3: Institutional Research and Planning
This series includes 4 boxes divided into 5 subseries covering the ICCB Research Advisory Council, institutional research, graduate follow-up studies, learning outcomes and assessment records, and personnel records.
Subseries 1: ICCB Research Advisory Council [Box 1, Folder 1]
Subseries 2: Institutional Research [Box 1, Folder 2]
Subseries 3: Graduate Follow-Up Studies [Box 2-4]
Subseries 4: Learning Outcomes and Assessment [Out of Place.]
Subseries 5: Personnel [Out of Place.]