College LibraryUser Guides
This is the "Home" page of the "Library 100 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library 100   Tags: library orientation  

Services and resources from Estelle M. Black Library
Last Updated: Jun 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.rockvalleycollege.edu/lib100 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library 100 Basics - Videos

How Do You Locate Library Resources?   

View a narrated presentation on accessing library resources.

Library Guides

Find Books  

How to find books and other media at the college library

Search the Library

Begin a search for sources of information

RVC Library Tour

Learn about areas and arrangement of materials in the library

 

Library Resources Navigation Video

Tours Quiz

 

Library Facility, Resources and Services

Library – Estelle M. Black Library

Location:    Educational Resource Center (ERC) – First & Second floors

Hours
Fall & Spring Semester Hours:     
Monday – Thursday 8 am – 9 pm Fri 8 am – 5 pm 
                                                           

Check the Library website for changes or adjustment in hours.

Telephone Numbers:  
     Reference Desk: (815) 921-4619
     Circulation – call-in Renewals: (815) 921-4615
     Administration: (815) 921-4626

Website:      http://www.RockValleyCollege.edu/Library

Email:          RVC-LibRef@RockValleyCollege.edu

Resources, Services and Collections
The Estelle M. Black Library provides print and electronic resources, facilities, and equipment to students, faculty, staff, and community members to serve learning and research needs. Faculty librarians are available to assist in the research process. 

The Library collection is comprised of books (both in print and electronic formats), a reference collection, journals and newspapers, music CDs, and DVD and VHS recordings. The Library also provides access to over 80 electronic databases with a significant amount of articles available in a full-text format.

Checking Out Material
Rock Valley College students may check out materials from the Library at no cost by showing a photo ID (student photo ID, a valid driver’s license or other photo ID). 

    Loan Periods 
    Material Type                    Length of Time 
     Books                                   28 days (generally)
     CDs, DVDs and videos       7 days
 
     Reserve books                   varying loan periods   
     
     Reference books must remain in the Library  
     Periodicals must remain in the Library

Lost and Overdue Library Materials
     LATE FEE CHARGES:
      COST                                       MATERIAL TYPE
     $ .10 per day                           most overdue materials
     $1.25 per day                          DVDs and videotapes
     $1.25 – $5.00 per day             Reserve materials/item/day (varies)
     $ .25 per hour                         hourly materials
     $1.00 per day, per item          Interlibrary Loan (RVC fee ) + originating library's
                                                        overdue fee

Report lost materials to the Circulation Desk immediately. If items are lost, payment of a charge for replacement and a fee for processing will be required. 

All  students must have clear library records with no fees or fines at the end of the semester. No grades or transcripts will be released, class registration will be blocked, and borrowing privileges will be suspended until library materials are returned and fines and replacement fees (for lost items) are paid.

Interlibrary Loan
The Library provides an Interlibrary Loan service to obtain items from other libraries that are not available from the Estelle M. Black Library.

Public (Community) Access
The Library is open to all members of the community who reside in the RVC College District #511.

Other Services
The Library’s “Information Commons,” Open Computer Lab, and second floor workstation provide 57 computers and one iMac (second floor). A PC on each floor is dedicated for searching the Library Catalog.

Six (6) group-study rooms – can be reserved at the Library’s Circulation Desk or by calling (815) 921-4615.

The Library also has an Assistive Technology Room, AudioVisual Viewing Room, Fax (International & U.S.) services and a Photocopier available (fees apply).

 

Search the Library Catalog


  

Search Library Catalog

http://library.rvc.cc.il.us/vwebv/searchBasic?sk=en_US

Look in SEARCH COMMANDS for sample
search terms to enter in Library catalog
Use the call number to find a book.
Example:  E 185  A31  2011

SEARCH COMMANDS

1   Phrase – enclose in quotation
      marks.          
     Example:   "student success" 

2   Boolean Operators (And, Or, Not) - link or
                 combine keywords. 
     “And” narrows your search by finding
      records that have both your 1st and 2nd
      keywords
      Example:  "student success" AND college

     “Or” broadens your search by finding
      records that contain either your 1st
      keyword or 2nd keyword             
      Example: “student success” OR 
                                      college          

     “Not” excludes the second keyword from
      your search 
      Example:   "student success" NOT college

3   Truncation:  - the Question Mark (?) finds
      all words that have the same root. 
      Example:       success?        will find 
                    success, successes, successful

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip